Workspaces

In Relativity, a workspace provides a secure data repository for documents used in cases or for applications developed with Dynamic Objects. You can store all types of documents (such as productions, witness testimony, and so on) in a workspace to facilitate searching, organizing, and categorizing content. In addition, you can use granular security settings to grant or deny permissions to specific content stored in the workspace.

At the workspace level, you can also define views, layouts, fields, and choices. These Relativity features streamline workflows, as well as simplify the processes for organizing and categorizing content. Views support filtering on item lists, while layouts, fields, and choices are used for categorizing documents.

This page contains the following sections:

See this related page:

Creating and editing a workspace

To create or edit a workspace, following these steps:

  1. Click the Workspaces tab.
  2. Click New Workspace. If you want to edit an existing workspace, click the Edit link next to the workspace name.
  3. Complete the fields in the form. See Fields.
  4. Click Save.

Fields

Viewing workspace details

On the Workspace Details page, Relativity displays read-only workspace settings, history information, Relativity Utilities console, and the Production Restrictions field. You can update the Production Restrictions field when you edit a workspace. See Adding and editing production restrictions.

Using the utilities console

Additional administrative features are available through the Relativity Utilities console on the Workspace Details page.

The console includes the following buttons in the System Settings area:

In the Relativity Downloads area, click any link to download the corresponding component.

Managing system keyboard shortcuts

You can modify the system keyboard shortcuts for a workspace. These keyboard shortcuts are defined in Relativity for use in the Core Reviewer Interface. You must have security permissions for the Admin Operation called Modify System Keyboard Shortcuts.

To manage system keyboard shortcuts, follow these steps:

  1. Click the Administration > Workspace Details tab.
  2. Click Manage System Keyboard Shortcuts in the Relativity Utilities console.

Use the following instructions to modify a system keyboard shortcut key:

After you have completed your updates, click Save to display the Workspace Details page.

Note: You can create user-defined shortcuts when you add a new field to Relativity. See Creating and editing fields, and Creating keyboard shortcuts.

Viewing the personal items of workspace users

You must be a System Administrator to view the personal items of workspace users. To view personal items, follow these steps:

  1. Click the AdministrationWorkspace Details tab.
  2. In the Relativity Utilities console, click View Another User’s Personal Items.
  3. Select one or more users whose personal items you want to view, and move them to the right box using the arrows.

    Note: To move multiple users between boxes, click the double arrows. You can also select and double-click on user names to move the between boxes.

  4. Click Save.

Adding and editing production restrictions

Using the Production Restrictions option, you can ensure that your production set doesn't include privileged or other confidential documents. You can select a saved search that returns documents that you want excluded from the production set. When you run a production, Relativity compares these documents against those in the production and alerts you to any conflicts. See Running a production.

To add a production restriction:

  1. Create a saved search with criteria that returns documents that you want excluded from the production set. Include family groups in your saved search so that all of the family items are kept together and can be removed if necessary.

    Note: You can select a saved search that uses a dtSearch or Analytics index. However, the saved search can't use a multiple object field, such as a Search Terms Report, as criteria. If you select this type of saved search for production restrictions, you'll receive an error when attempting to save your workspace details page.

  2. Click to edit the workspace details page. You can only update the Production Restrictions option when editing a workspace. See Creating and editing a workspace.
  3. Select your saved search in the Production Restrictions option. The default value is <no restriction>.

  4. Run your production set. If a conflict occurs, you can override the production restriction if you're a System Administrator with the Override Production Restrictions permission. See Security permissions.

Managing production restrictions in templates

If you use a workspace with production restrictions as a template, you'll see a warning message that requires you to select one of the following options:

You can't delete the saved search that the Production Restriction option uses. You must first edit the Production Restriction option so that it no longer references the search.

Send us feedback down arrow